This is a Story of a Girl, Who Twirls in Dresses Before Changing into Her Basketball Shoes

 

Bow till the day I die #Baller #ShotCaller #iDefySteroetypes #OrDoI #JustDoIt

Bow till the day I die #Baller #ShotCaller #iDefySteroetypes #OrDoI #JustDoIt #HumanRightsSelfie

I am a girl. I never wear jeans, only dresses. I have an expansive collection of bows, and I paint my nails every three days. I have become a master of winged eyeliner, and the perfect way to curl eyelashes. I love shopping and drinking soy chai lattes. I can also sing even single Taylor Swift song to you by heart. 

I also play basketball. 

I don’t just play, I am great at basketball. I am what you call a beast. I have played basketball longer than I have worn make-up. I have mastered the art of never missing a lay-up and I can sit in a defensive stance for a very, very long time. I have ran baseline to baseline and back in under 12 seconds since I was twelve. 

I defy my girlie stereotype 

but

I will never earn as much as LeBron James 

No woman in the WNBA will earn as much as LeBron James, even though they practice for the same amount of hours.

Under Article 2: Everyone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration, without distinction of any kind, such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status. Furthermore, no distinction shall be made on the basis of the political, jurisdictional or international status of the country or territory to which a person belongs, whether it be independent, trust, non-self-governing or under any other limitation of sovereignty.

I am allowed to play a “mans” sport and because of article 23: Everyone, without any discrimination, has the right to equal pay for equal work[1]

Every professional basketball player, man or woman, should be paid equally, but that is not the case. 

As a collegiate basketball player I receive an athletic scholarship, but even at my level my award will not be as large as an award given to someone on the Man’s basketball team.

In a speech delivered by UN women deputy executive director Lakshmi Puri explains

“Yet socially accepted ways of what it means to be a man or a woman continue to play an important role in determining access and levels of participation, both in the stadium and in the structures of the sport movement itself. This is a reflection of deeply entrenched gender norms and stereotypes about masculinity and femininity: women should be gentle and caring; men should be strong and unemotional … football is for boys, dance is for girls.

These gender stereotypes are restrictive and harmful to men and women alike because they prevent individuals from fulfilling their potential and realizing their dreams. In my own country of India, women and girls find themselves doubly disadvantaged, as often not enough value is placed on sport activities for boys — let alone for girls.
Every step taken to challenge these stereotypes is one step forward in the promotion of gender equality” [2]

I am lucky to be a girl in the United State. I have the opportunity to play college basketball, where little girls in other countries might not even know to dream that for themselves. I would never dream of begin paid as much as LeBron James, if I were to play professional basketball. There is still obvious challenges that women in the sports world have to conquer for gender equality, one selfie at a time.  

Create your own gender-defying “selfie”

1) Take a picture of yourself defying gender norms

2) See which Human Rights article you are demonstrating

3) Share and upload your selfie #InstaBaby

4) Explain in caption how you defy gender sterotypes based on the Articles you a protected under

5) Share away, and change the world

 

 

Do you think male and female professional athletes should be paid equally?

Does the best female athlete in the WNBA earn as much as the worst male athlete in the NBA?

Are women paid equally in any field?

 

Comment and share your selfies below! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Resources 

[1] http://www.un.org/en/documents/udhr/

[2] http://www.unwomen.org/en/news/stories/2012/2/women-in-the-world-of-sports

Leave a Reply

